Home Page Image


Cultivating Creative and Innovative Mathematical Thinking with Technologies


ATCM 2019, Leshan, China



Wei-Chi Yang, Radford University, USA 
Douglas Meade, University of South Carolina, USA

Published by Mathematics and Technology, LLC ( 

ISBN 978-0-9972807-3-9 (hard copy)
ISSN 1940-2279 (USB)
ISSN 1940-4204 (online version)



On behalf of our hosts at LeshanVocational and Technical College, China, the members of the Local Organizing Committee, and everyone on the International Program Committee of this 24th Annual ATCM, we are proud and honored to present this collection of eighteen (18) papers from presentations at ATCM 2019.  These papers reflect a variety of perspectives around the conference’s theme: Cultivating Creative and Innovative Mathematical Thinking With Technologies.


We offer our most sincere thanks to the local teachers where are able to attend ATCM 2019.  The diversity in mathematical topic, pedagogical approach, and technology found in these papers is only a sample of the diversity found in the participants and presentations. This diversity is particularly appreciated by the local teachers (and students) who were able to attend ATCM 2019. This experience benefits them as they finish their education and  as they develop a mathematical career utilizing technology in their local community. The diversity in the backgrounds and careers of these local participants is also a significant feature of each ATCM. We believe creativity and innovation flourish in this active and dynamic environment. Students see the passion of their instructors, and this leads them to develop their own passions and excitement to learn mathematics.


The wide range of technologies – old, new, and to appear in the future – is impressive, but even more impressive is the diverse ways in which these technologies are being used to improve mathematics education around the world. It is this combination of old, new, and still in development that makes ATCM new and different each year.


All authors and readers are encouraged to contribute their favorite idea to the next ATCM or to the Electronic Journal of Mathematics and Technology (eJMT:  Selected eJMT papers will be selected for publication in the Research Journal for Mathematics and Technology (RJMT:


It is always fun to renew old friendships from previous ATCMs and also to make even more new friends.  We hope you will invite a few of your colleagues to experience ATCM for themselves.  We look forward to seeing everyone at future ATCMs – starting with ATCM 2020 that will take place December 13-17, 2020 at International College, SuanSunandha Rajabhat University in Bangkok, Thailand.

Editors of Proceedings of ATCM 2019


International Program Committee (IPC)



Wei-Chi YANG, Radford University, USA

Weng, Kin HO, NIE / Nanyang Technological University, Singapore



Tilak de ALWIS, Southeastern Louisiana University, USA 

Keng Cheng ANG, NIE/ Nanyang Technological University, Singapore 

Yiming CAO, Beijing Normal University, China 

Jen-Chung CHUAN, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan 

Jean-Jacques DAHAN, Paul Sabatier University Toulouse France 

Guillermo DAVILA-RASCON, Universidad de Sonora, Mexico

Ma. Louise Antonette DE LAS PEÑAS, Ateneo De Manila University, Philippines 

Hongguang FU, University of Electronic Science & Technology-Chengdu (UESTC), China 

Jonaki GHOSH , University of Delhi, New Delhi, India 

Haslinda IBRAHIM, UniversitiUtara Malaysia, Malaysia 

Masami ISODA, University of Tsukuba, Japan 

Matthias KAWSKI, Arizona State University, USA 

Krongthong KHAIRIREE, SuanSunandha Rajabhat University, Thailand 

Barry KISSANE, Murdoch University, Australia 

Miroslaw MAJEWSKI, New York Institute of Technology, United Arab Emirates 

Carl LIU , Leshan Vocational and Technical College, China 

Alasdair McANDREW, Victoria University, Australia 

Douglas MEADE, University of South Carolina, USA 

Vladimir NODELMAN, Holon Institute of Technology, Israel 

Inder K RANA, Indian Institute of Technology, Powai, India 

Haitham SOLH , American University in Dubai, United Arab Emirates 

Tadashi TAKAHASHI, Konan University, Japan 

José Antonio VALLEJO, Universidad Autónoma de San Luis Potosí, Mexico 

Tianfei WANG, Leshan Normal University, China

Yuan YUAN, Chung Yuan Christian University, Taiwan

Weinian ZHANG, Sichuan University, China


Local Organizing Committees



Liu Zhong / 刘忠 , President/Professor,

Leshan Vocational and Technical College

Hu Bing / 胡兵 , Party Secretary/Professor,

Maths College of Sichuan University

Tang Liuhong / 唐刘红 , Vice President/Professor,

Leshan Vocational and Technical College

Xu Liwei / 徐立伟 , President/Professor,

School of Mathematical Science of University of Electronic Science and Technology of China

Ma Jingtang / 马敬堂 , President/Professor,

School of Economic Mathematics of Southwest University of Finance and Economics

Long Shujun / 龙述君 , President/Professor,

School of Maths and Information Science of Leshan Normal University

Huang Xiaoli / 黄晓莉 , Director,

International Cooperation and Communication Office of LeshanNormal University

Chen Xiaohuan / 陈晓寰 , Director,

Office of Academic Research of Leshan Vocational and Technical College

Yuan Mei / 袁梅 , Professor, LeshanVocational and Technical College


Advisory Committee

Bruno BUCHBERGER, Linz, Austria

Peng Yee LEE, NIE/ Nanyang Technological University, Singapore 

Lu YANG, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China 


Peer Reviewers

Jen-Chung CHUAN 

Tilak de ALWIS

Veena GR

Weng Kin HO

Haslinda IBRAHIM

Douglas MEADE 

Wee Leng NG


Wei-Chi YANG