Home Page Image


Innovative Technology in Mathematics: New Ways for Learning, Teaching, and Researching Mathematics



ATCM 2018, Yogyakarta, Indonesia



Wei-Chi Yang, Radford University, USA
Douglas Meade, University of South Carolina, USA

Published by Mathematics and Technology, LLC (http://mathandtech.org/)

ISBN 978-0-9972807-2-2 (hard copy)
ISSN 1940-2279 (CD)
ISSN 1940-4204 (online version)

On the behalf of the Yogyakarta State University, Indonesia, members of the Local Organizing Committee, and everyone on the International Program Committee of this ATCM conference, we are proud and honored to present this collection of twenty-one (21) papers related to ATCM 2018.  These papers reflect a variety of perspectives around the conference’s theme: Innovative Technology in Mathematics: New Ways for Learning, Teaching, and Researching Mathematics.

We offer our most sincere thanks to the local teachers where are able to attend this enjoyable and instructive annual international conference.  We appreciate the diversity among the educators and scientists who come to ATCM to discuss and to demonstrate the most current trends in technology for mathematics and mathematics with technology.  The wide range of technologies – old, new, and to appear in the future – is impressive, but even more impressive is the diverse ways in which these technologies are being used to improve mathematics education around the world. It is this combination of old, new, and still in development that makes ATCM new and different each year.

We believe creativity and innovation flourish in this active and dynamic environment. Students see the passion of their instructors, and this leads them to develop their own passions and excitement to learn mathematics.

All authors and readers are encouraged to contribute their favorite idea to the next ATCM or to the Electronic Journal of Technology and Mathematics (eJMT: https://php.radford.edu/~ejmt/).

We would also like to thank the many participants and contributions from all around world.  It was good to renew old friendships from previous ATCMs and also to make even more new friends.  We hope you will invite a few of your colleagues to experience ATCM for themselves.  We look forward to seeing everyone at future ATCMs, starting with ATCM 2019 at Leshan Vocational and Technical College, China.

And, finally, we would like to express our sincere appreciation to CASIO Computer Co., Ltd. for their support of ATCM 2018 again this year. We thank also the members of the International Program Committee and external reviewers for their great contribution in reviewing papers to ensure our Proceedings can be released in time.

Editors of Proceedings of ATCM 2018


International Program Committee (IPC)



Wei-Chi YANG, Radford University, USA

Weng, Kin HO, NIE / Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Paul ABBOTT, University of Western Australia, Australia

Tilak de ALWIS, Southeastern Louisiana University, USA

Keng Cheng ANG, NIE/ Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Yiming CAO, Beijing Normal University, China

Jen-Chung CHUAN, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan

Jean-Jacques DAHAN, Paul Sabatier University Toulouse France

Ma. Louise Antonette DE LAS PEŃAS, Ateneo De Manila University, Philippines

Hongguang FU, University of Electronic Science & Technology-Chengdu (UESTC), China

Masami ISODA, University of Tsukuba, Japan

Matthias KAWSKI, Arizona State University, USA

Miroslaw MAJEWSKI, New York Institute of Technology, United Arab Emirates

Krongthong KHAIRIREE, Suan Sunandha Rajabhat University, Thailand

Barry KISSANE, Murdoch University, Australia

Alasdair McANDREW, Victoria University, Australia

Douglas MEADE, University of South Carolina, USA

Eva MILKOVÁ, University of Hradec Králové, Czech Republic

Vladimir NODELMAN, Holon Institute of Technology, Israel

Inder K RANA, Indian Institute of Technology, Powai, India

Tadashi TAKAHASHI, Konan University, Japan

José Antonio VALLEJO, Universidad Autónoma de San Luis Potosí Mexico

Tianfei WANG, Leshan Normal University, China

Yuan YUAN, Chung Yuan Christian University, Taiwan

Weinian ZHANG, Sichuan University, China


Local Organizing Committees



Dr. Hartono

Dr. Ali Mahmudi

Dr. Ariyadi Wijaya

Dr. Sri Andayani

Dr. Agus Maman Abadi

Dr. Sugiman

Prof. Dr. Rer. Nat. Widodo, M.S.

Dr. Wahyudi Wahyudi

Endah Retnowati, PhD.

Wahyu Setyaningrum, PhD.

Kisiantini, PhD.

Sahid, MSc.


Advisory Committee

Bruno BUCHBERGER, Linz, Austria

Peng Yee LEE, NIE/ Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Lu YANG, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


Peer Reviewers


Zacharie M. BATIGA

Jen-Chung CHUAN

Yashpaul CHUGH

Jean-Jacques DAHAN

Tilak de ALWIS

Veena GR

Weng Kin HO

Carl LIU

Alasdair McANDREW