Home Page Image
  Technological Creativity and Innovation in Mathematics Applications  

ATCM 2017, Chungli, Taiwan


Wei-Chi Yang, Radford University, USA
Douglas Meade, University of South Carolina, USA
Yuan Yuan, Chung Yuan Christians University, Taiwan

Published by Mathematics and Technology, LLC (http://mathandtech.org/)

ISBN 978-0-9972807-1-5 (hard copy)
ISSN 1940-2279 (CD)
ISSN 1940-4204 (online version)


On the behalf of the Chung Yuan Christian University in Chungli, Taiwan, members of the Local Organizing Committee, and everyone on the International Program Committee of this ATCM conference, we are proud and honored to present this collection of thirty (30) papers related from ATCM 2017. These papers reflect a variety of perspectives around the conference's theme: Technological Creativity and Innovation in Mathematics Applications.

We offer our most sincere thanks to the local teachers where were able to attend this enjoyable and instructive annual international conference. We appreciate the diversity among the educators and scientists who have discussed and demonstrated the most current trends in technology for mathematics and mathematics with technology. While we are sad to see many long-time ATCM contributors have retired or are retiring, we are also energized by the many young presenters coming to ATCM this year.

We believe creativity and innovation will flourish when we take advantage of a variety of technologies to increase student engagement with the mathematics they are learning in our classrooms. With each passing year existing technologies mature and new technologies are created. Each development provides new opportunities to present to new generations of students the mathematics that is the cornerstone of all Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) fields. All authors and readers are encouraged to contribute their favorite idea to the next ATCM or to the Electronic Journal of Technology and Mathematics (eJMT: https://php.radford.edu/~ejmt/).

We would also like to thank the many participants and contributions from all around world. It was good to renew old friendships from previous ATCMs and also to make even more new friends. We hope you will invite a few of your colleagues to experience ATCM for themselves. We look forward to seeing everyone at future ATCMs, starting with ATCM 2018 in Yogyakarta State University in Yogyakarta, Indonesia on November 20-24, 2018.

And, finally, we would like to express our sincere appreciation to all sponsors for their support of ATCM 2017 again this year. We thank also the members of the International Program Committee and external reviewers for their great contribution in reviewing papers to ensure our Proceedings can be released in time.


International Program Committee (IPC)


Wei-Chi YANG , Radford University, U.S.A.
Carl LIU, Leshan Vocational and Technical College, China


Paul ABBOTT, University of Western Australia, Australia
Tilak de ALWIS, Southeastern Louisiana University, USA
Keng Cheng ANG, NIE/ Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Yiming CAO, Beijing Normal University, China
Jen-Chung CHUAN, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
Jean-Jacques DAHAN, Paul Sabatier University Toulouse France
Ma. Louise Antonette DE LAS PEÑAS, Ateneo De Manila University, Philippines
Hongguang FU, University of Electronic Science & Technology-Chengdu (UESTC), China
Weng Kin HO, NIE/ Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Masami ISODA, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Matthias KAWSKI, Arizona State University, USA
Miroslaw MAJEWSKI, New York Institute of Technology, United Arab Emirates
Krongthong KHAIRIREE, Suan Sunandha Rajabhat University, Thailand
Barry KISSANE, Murdoch University, Australia
Hee-chan LEW, Korea National University of Education, South Korea
Alasdair McANDREW, Victoria University, Australia
Douglas MEADE, The University of South Carolina, USA
Eva MILKOVÁ, University of Hradec Králové, Czech Republic
Vladimir NODELMAN, Holon Institute of Technology, Israel
Inder K RANA, Indian Institute of Technology, Powai, India
Tadashi TAKAHASHI, Konan University, Japan
José Antonio VALLEJO, Universidad Autónoma de San Luis Potosí Mexico
Tianfei WANG, Leshan Normal University, China
Yuan YUAN, Chung Yuan Christian University, Taiwan

Local Organizing Committees

Local Organizing Co-Chairs

Mu-Ming WONG, Chung Yuan Christian University
Yuan YUAN, Chung Yuan Christian University

Local Organizing Committee

Jen-CHUNG, Chun National Tsing Hua University
Kuo-LONG, Chen National Tsing Hua University
Ming-JANG, Chen National Chiao Tung University
Shin-Shin KAO, Chung Yuan Christian University
Chang-Sou KUAN, National Lo-Tung Senior High School
Chun-Yi LEE, National Taipei University
Jin-Ching LEE, Chung Yuan Christian University
Chun Hung LIN, Chung Yuan Christian University
Cheng-Feng LI, National Chuana Senior High School
Tai-YIH, Tso National Taiwan Normal University
I-Lung YEN, National Experimental High School At Hsinchu Science Park

Advisory Committee

Peng Yee LEE, NIE/ Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Lu YANG, Guangzhou University, China

Peer Reviewers

Keng Cheng ANG
Zacharie M. BATIGA
Cheng Meng CHEW
Chee-Keong CHONG
Jen-Chung CHUAN
Yashpaul CHUGH
Jean-Jacques DAHAN
Ma. Louise Antonette DE LAS PEÑAS
Maria Ailynn DIANSUY
Veena GR
Weng Kin HO
Carl LIU
Christopher LONGHURST
Alasdair McANDREW
Zacharie M''BAITIGA
Douglas MEADE
Chew Cheng MENG
Wee Leng NG
Krongthong KHAIRIREE
Wei-Chi YANG